Middle School Students, grades 6 – 8, will participate in  the following STAAR Assessments:

    Grade 6 ~ Reading and Math

    Grade 7 ~ Reading, Math, and Writing

    Grade 8 ~ Reading, Math, Science, and Social Studies

    7th and/or 8th grade students enrolled in high school Algebra I or Geometry will take the End-of-Course    STAAR Test


    Once students have taken a STAAR assessment they will receive a score indicating their performance. Student performance will fall in to one of the three categories listed below:

    Level III = Advanced Academic Performance

    Level II = Satisfactory Academic Performance

    Level I = Unsatisfactory Academic Performance


    The Texas Education Agency (TEA) has established a four (4) hour time limit for both STAAR assessments and STAAR EOC assessments. TEA notes that a four hour time limit should provide sufficient time for the majority of students to complete the test. The rationale for time limits aligns Texas testing practices with other timed state and national assessments, i.e. SAT, ACT and AP examinations. Extended time accommodations for students with unique learning needs will continue to be offered


    Student Success Initiative (SSI) requires that students in grade 8 pass both STAAR reading and math exams to be promoted to the next grade. Students will test in April. Any student who needs to retest will be tested in May. Summer testing will be provided in June with a 3rd opportunity to pass the STAAR 8th grade reading and math exam.