Annual Teacher of the Year Awards

  • 2017-18 Teacher of the Year

    Each elementary and secondary school* in the Denton ISD has the privilege of nominating one teacher for teacher of the year. A committee of TCC members will review the campus Teachers of the Year and select one elementary and one secondary teacher to move on to the regional competition.
    Nominated teachers must have been teaching in the Denton ISD at least three consecutive years and not have won for their campus in the last five years.

    Each campus TCC representative will take nominations and hold a campus-wide election for their school's Teacher of the Year. These names must be turned in to Mario Zavala no later than Jan. 25, 2018. The form with ring size and t-shirt size should be turned in to Mario by 4 p.m. on Thursday, Jan. 25. Completed applications – along with an electronic photo sent to – are due to Mario no later than Thursday, Feb. 15, 2018. If you do not have a photo – please make an appointment with the Communications Department at extension 0006 to schedule a time and date to have a picture taken.

    Teachers who are selected as the district's Elementary and Secondary Teacher of the Year will be required to get their principal's endorsement before their application can go to the regional level. The Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year will also have to complete the entire Teacher of the Year application. 
    Each campus Teacher of the Year will be presented with a ring provided by Josten's. Rings will be presented and the district's elementary and secondary winners announced at a spring school board meeting.
    (*The Davis School DAEP, Fred Moore, Advanced Technology Center, and Juvenile Detention (Sparks) will rotate with only one campus nominating a Teacher of the Year every fourth year.) The 2018 TOY will be from the ATC. (The TOY in 2017 was from Fred Moore, Davis in 2016, Sparks in 2015 and the ATC in 2014.)
    (*Ann Windle and Gonzalez will alternate. Ann Windle will be on odd numbered years and Gonzalez on even numbered years.) For 2018, the TOY will be from Gonzalez.
    The Teacher of the Year reception will be held at a time announced in the early spring, at the LaGrone Advanced Technology Complex, located at 1504 Long Road in Denton.