Return to Headlines

Ryan students given statewide music award by TMEA

The Ryan High School Band had three students recently recognized as Texas Music Scholars by the Texas Music Educators Association.

Ryan High freshmen Luke Owens, Skarleth Santibanez and Arielle Smith were honored for the outstanding commitment to scholastic merit, musicianship and citizenship within their school and community. Luke and Arielle each play the trumpet, while Skarleth plays the tenor saxophone.

The TMEA annually recognizes less than 2,000 students across the state with the Texas Music Scholar award, making this one of the most prestigious honors awarded.

Eddie Russell is the band director at Ryan High.