Return to Headlines

District high schools have 30 students selected to Texas Boys State

The Denton Independent School District had 30 high school juniors chosen to participate in the American Legion annual Texas Boys State program Monday, June 7, through Saturday, June 12, at the University of Texas at Austin.

Ryan High School had 11 of the representatives including: Oliver Davidson, Harry Dearman, Jonathan Guerrero, Sam McClanahan, Reilly Polster, Matt Pruett, Garrison Reeves, Nick Watts, Kyle Smith, Walter Tunnell-Wilson, Maxston Wright.

Denton High School had 10 of the representatives including: Josh Boring, George Elliott, Tanner Hill, Blasé Martin, Tanyon Oldham, Alexander Poston and Jackson Sawko.

Guyer High School had nine representatives including: Josh Burly, Josh Erickson, Noah Hansen, Josh Kasitz, Cody Pence, Evan Samsky, Matt Shovlin, James Smith and Matt Stusick.

All student representatives were selected by local American Legion posts.

Texas Boys State is a program that educates students about the various aspects of local, regional and state government. Participating students organize their own “state” and form laws, government and citizenship guidelines and conclude the program by meeting and visiting with elected Texas officials.

The program is known for helping students develop better public speaking and community service skills, while helping them realize the duties and responsibilities that come with being an American citizen. Participating students are also eligible to represent Texas at the Boys Nation conference and compete for a scholarship sponsored by Samsung and the American Legion.