Return to Headlines

Schools to host variety of Veterans Day activities

Denton ISD will honor veterans with its traditional Veterans Day programs Tuesday, Nov. 11, at each of its comprehensive high schools. In addition, several other schools throughout the district will be hosting events before or on Veterans Day.

Information for Veterans Day events around the district can be seen below.

Friday, Nov. 6


Adkins Elementary School
US Air Force Sgt. Johnnie Yellock, who lives in Lantana and is a veteran liason for www.HelpingaHero.org, will speak to students and others in attendance. Students will perform a concert for their parents and community members beginning at 9:30 a.m. For more information, contact Randy Schmidt by email at rschmidt@dentonisd.org.

Wednesday, Nov. 11


Denton High School
AFJROTC will begin with a formal flag raising ceremony at 8:15 a.m. followed by breakfast in the Gym 1 Foyer beginning at 8:30 a.m. A formal program hosted by the National Honor Society starts at 9 a.m. Students in orchestra, band, jazz band, choir, theater and drill team will all be part of the program. For more information, contact Don Place by email at dplace@dentonisd.org.

Guyer High School
AFJROTC will begin with a formal flag raising ceremony at 8:30 a.m. followed by breakfast in the Cafeteria. For more information, contact Blake Fentress by email at bfentress@dentonisd.org.

Ryan High School
AFJROTC will begin with a formal flag raising ceremony at 8:15 a.m. on the front drive of the campus. The ceremony will include a speaker from the local VFW. For more information contact Dan Warren by email at dwarren@dentonisd.org. RHS Cadets will then participate in a community ceremony at Baylor Hospital at 8:30 a.m. and at a Wreath Ceremony on the Square at 8:30 a.m. For more information, contact David Lee by email at dlee@dentonisd.org.

Harpool Middle School
Students have created a wall display in the school’s main hallway “Honoring Our Troops” that will be unveiled. For more information contact Kady Wilkinson by email at kwilkinson99@dentonisd.org.

Ginnings Elementary School
Members of the Ryan High AFJROTC will join Ginnings students in a ceremony beginning at 8:30 a.m. and will repeat the event at 6:30 p.m. for the parents and the community. For more information, contact Courtney Karns by email at ckarns@dentonisd.org.

Houston Elementary School
The Fifth Grade Choir will perform patriotic songs and speeches in the Cafeteria beginning at 8:15 a.m. For more information, contact Gennifer Smith by email at gsmith2@dentonisd.org.

McNair Elementary School
The fifth grade will host two assemblies, the first for third and fourth grades beginning at 8 a.m. The second assembly for kindergarten through second grades will begin at 8:40 a.m. For more information, contact Beth Lopez by email at elopez2@dentonisd.org.

Pecan Creek Elementary School
The campus is hosting a breakfast and choir program for family and community members at 8 a.m. For more information, contact Lacey Rainey by email at lrainey@dentonisd.org.

W.S. Ryan Elementary School
Students will honor veterans with a flag ceremony and choir performance in the Cafeteria beginning at 8:15 a.m. For more information contact Desiree Peden by email at dpeden@dentonisd.org.

Wilson Elementary School
The All-Star Choir will perform for students, parents and staff in the Cafeteria at 8:30 a.m. and again at 2 p.m. For more information, contact David Rowland by email at drowland@dentonisd.org.

Thursday, Nov. 12


Hodge Elementary School
Students will perform for their parents and community members beginning at 6 p.m. For more information, contact Patty Jensen by email at pjensen@dentonisd.org.