Return to Headlines

DHS student named National Merit Semifinalist, nine others earn commended status

Denton High School’s Lillian King has joined an elite group of scholars by earning one of the highest academic honors in the country. She is among the highest scoring entrants from the state of Texas in the 2015 National Merit Scholarship program.

All winners of Merit Scholarship awards are chosen for recognition based on taking the Preliminary – SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test – a test taken by 1.5 million students each year in more than 22,000 high schools nationwide.

Denton ISD has produced 39 National Merit Semifinalists in the past 13 years.

This spring, 7,400 Semifinalists will be notified if they will be elevated to Finalist in the prestigious competition – a selection based on their abilities, skills and accomplishments. This distinction earns students scholarships and college sponsorships.

Additionally, nine Denton ISD students were recognized as Commended Scholars by the National Merit Scholarship program. There are less than 34,000 students recognized nationwide, placing these student’s scores on the PSAT/NMSQT in the top five percent.

Students earning this distinction include: Delainee R. Jernigan, Denton High; Logan T. Maltz, Denton High; Alex N. Souris, Denton High; Aidan B. Collins, Guyer High; Peyton J. Griffiths, Guyer High; Inki Lee, Guyer High; Evan Samsky, Guyer High; Tiffany J. Wang, Guyer High; and Walter Tunnell-Wilson, Ryan High.
2015 National Merit Honorees