About Teacher of the Year Annual Awards

  • Each elementary and secondary school* in Denton ISD has the privilege of nominating one teacher for Teacher of the Year.  Members of the district's Teachers Communication Committee (TCC) then review the nominees and select one elementary and one secondary teacher to move on to the Region XI Teacher of the Year Competition.

    Nominated teachers must have been teaching in the Denton ISD for no less than three consecutive years and not have been nominated as a campus winner for the last five years. Each campus TCC representative will take nominations and hold a campus-wide election for their school's Teacher of the Year. 

    Teachers who are selected as the District's Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year will be required to get their principal's endorsement before their application can go to the regional level. The Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year will also have to complete the entire Teacher of the Year application.   

    Each campus Teacher of the Year will be presented with a ring provided by Jostens at the Teacher of the Year Reception.

  • *The Davis School DAEP, Fred Moore, Advanced Technology Center, and Juvenile Detention (Sparks) will rotate with only one campus nominating a Teacher of the Year every fourth year.) The 2020 TOY will be from Davis. (The TOY in Davis in 2016, Fred Moore in 2017, the ATC in 2018, and Sparks in 2019.)

    *Ann Windle and Gonzalez will alternate. Ann Windle will be on odd numbered years and Gonzalez on even numbered years. For 2021, the TOY will be from Gonzalez.

All Forms are due by Jan 27