zeigler photo


    Shawn Barton Zeigler

    phone: 369-3000

    cut and paste into your to:  szeigler@dentonisd.org






    PreAP English I and English I Educator since 1999  
    PSAT/College Prep since 2014-15 
    English Department Chair since 2015-16 school year  




    Certified in English for Secondary, University of North Texas, Denton, TX (May 1999)


    Honored as Outstanding Undergraduate in Education at UNT in May of 1999

    Bachelor of Arts (English/music), University of North Texas, Denton, TX (May 1996)



    Since kindergarten, this is what I’ve wanted to do.  Working with students is the most rewarding aspect of education.



    Philosophy of Education:


    My Aunt Nancy, an educator, always used to say, “We’re stamping out ignorance left and right!” and I think that pretty well says it.       

     Accomplishments and Additional Service to the District




    • Renaissance Teacher of the Year for Ryan High School 2002-2003  
    • Campus Leadership Team representative for English at RHS for seven years
    ·      Academic Council member for seven years including Curriculum Writing for Denton ISD during summer 2010 and 2015-16.
    • Renaissance Teacher of the Month for November 2015 
    *        Literary Criticism Sponsor for UIL since 2000, including state winning years of 2010, 2012, and 2013. 
     Literary Criticism past achievements: 
    Ryan High Literary Criticism Team has won District in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015
    Ryan High Literary Criticism Team has advanced to Regionals in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018  
    Ryan High Literary Criticism Team has advanced to State in 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2017, 2018 
    JD McClanahan placed second in Literary Criticism at UIL State for 5A in 2013.  
    First Place in STATE in 2013 for 5A - Literary Criticism Team (JD McClanahan, Rachael Rosenberg, Sarah Miles, and Veronica Hardy), a back to back win for both JD and Rachael. 
    First Place in State in 2012 for 4A -Literary Criticism Team (Kathryn Hokamp, JD McClanahan, Meghan Kajihara, and Rachael Rosenberg).
    Individually, Kathryn Hokamp placed first in the State, and JD McClanahan placed second.  This marks three years in a row that Kathryn has placed in the top five and four years in a row she has competed at the State level.
    First Place in State in 2010 for 4A - Kate McPherson, Kathryn Hokamp, Jaimie Anderson, and Nathaniel Miles 
    Third Place at State in 2007 for 4AJune Strange, Beth Jenkins, Brooke Elliott, and Kate McPherson  




Last Modified on August 14, 2018