• Things Parents Should Know About the TAKS

    Texas was one of the first states to implement a statewide test, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS).  Texas implemented the statewide test, TAKS, in 2003.  Before this the test was known as TAAS, TEAMS, and TABS.


    The Texas Accountability Ratings, a statewide school rating system implemented in 2004, are based on TAKS results.


    1. Students in grades 3 through 11 take TAKS each spring.

                  Reading: Grades 3 – 9

                  Writing: Grades 4 and 7

                  English Language Arts: Grades 10 and 11

                  Mathematics: Grades 3 – 11

                  Science: Grades 5,8,10 and 11

                  Social Studies: Grades 8, 10, and 11

    2. Passing the Exit Level, Grade 11, TAKS in high school is a requirement for graduation.  The students must pass all four sections, ELA, Math, Science, & Social Studies to get their diploma.  Students first take the TAKS during the spring of their 11th grade year.  Students have several chances to pass if they fail in one or all of the subject areas.  Students only retest in the area in which they were unsuccessful.
    3. Passing the TAKS is a requirement for promotion to grades 4 and 6.  In the year 2007-08 students must pass the grade 8 TAKS to be promoted to 9th grade.
    4. The TAKS tests the skills outlined in the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) learning standards.
    5. Students classified as Limited English Proficient (LEP) and some special education students may follow a slightly different path.  
    6. The passing rate is 2100 for all test levels.
    7. Commended is 2400 for all test levels.  By achieving commended in ELA and Math the student may be exempt from the THEA 

Last Modified on November 29, 2006