Return to Headlines

Principals named for four Denton ISD schools

Denton Independent School District’s Board of Trustees voted to approve principals at four schools – Navo Middle School, Nelson Elementary, W.S. Ryan Elementary and the district’s upcoming eighth middle school – at its most recent meeting.
At Navo, Beth Kelly will replace Mario Layne, who is resigning for personal reasons. Mrs. Kelly is currently the principal of Fred Moore High School and will continue in that capacity until her replacement is named. At Nelson Elementary, Erika Timmons will be elevated from assistant principal to become her school’s leader, replacing Cecilia Holt, who is moving to Newton Rayzor Elementary. At W.S. Ryan, Nicole Poole is replacing Dr. Rosie Oliveira, who is retiring at the end of the school year.
Renee Koontz, current associate principal of Denton High School, will serve as Middle School No. 8’s first principal when it is slated to open in 2017. The school, which will be named by trustees at a future board meeting, will open in the town of Oak Point between Martop and McCormick roads.
In addition to the naming of new principals, trustees approved Jim Watson as the district’s new director of transportation. Mr. Watson brings 12 years of educational experience to the position, including stints as head of operations at Gainesville ISD and Gunter ISD.
For more information about each hiring, click the appropriate link below.