Return to Headlines

Ryan High band students recognized with prestigious state honor

Ryan High School had three students in its band program recognized as Texas Music Scholars by the Texas Music Educators Association.

Ryan High juniors Luke Owens, Skarleth Santibanez and Arielle Smith were honored for the outstanding commitment to scholastic merit, musicianship and citizenship within their school and community. The students were honored by TMEA near the end of the 2015-16 school year, the second consecutive year each of the students was recognized by the organization.
Luke and Arielle each play the trumpet, while Skarleth plays the tenor saxophone.
TMEA annually recognizes less than 2,000 students across the state with the Texas Music Scholar award, making this one of the most prestigious honors awarded.
Eddie Russell is the band director at Ryan High.