Return to Headlines

National honors given to DHS jazz, percussion ensembles

Denton High School's jazz and percussion programs have been named winners in the prestigious 2016 Mark of Excellence competition by The Foundation for Music Education.
The Denton High Lab Band 1 was selected as a winner in the Mark of Excellence/National Jazz Honors project. Jesse Woolery is the director of jazz bands.

Current students in this group include: Gabriel Aponte, Doug Aubrey, Jonathan Bennett, Autumn Brown, Josue Cazco Mantilla, Ivan Cross Contreras, Avery Delost, Peyton Dunworth, Joe Grantham, Hannah Guerrero, Eleanor Halbert, Israel Harris, Christian Lopez, Jason Mayne, Andres Noriega, Ethan Reynolds, Max Scalf, Casey Stratton and Malik Everett (now at Braswell High).

The Denton High Percussion Ensemble was selected as a winner in the Mark of Excellence/National Percussion Ensemble Honors project. Phillip Elder is the school's percussion coordinator.  

Current students in this group include: Doug Aubrey, Madison Fairchild, Faith Ferguson, Hannah Guerrero, Amaya Herrington-Alexander, Emily Lin, Andrew Lopez de Nava, Connor McClintock, Sarah Skinner, Michael Steward, David Steward, Brooke Smith, and Christian Hernandez (now at Braswell High).

"These Denton ISD ensembles are wonderful examples of musical achievement and a credit to the school district," said Dick Clardy, executive director of the Mark of Excellence. 
The Mark of Excellence is a competition in which the top quarter of selected entries are chosen as national winners. Denton High's entries were selected from among a collected of more than 230 from 36 states.