Return to Headlines

District places 29 middle school students on TMEA all-region choir

Denton ISD’s seven middle schools each placed a student on the Texas Music Educators Association all-region choir, giving the district a total of 29 members on this year’s chorale group.

Northwest High School hosted several middle schools in the region, which includes Denton County and part of Collin County, for auditions for individual spots on the all-region roster. More than 500 students auditioned, with the selected students taking part in a clinic and concert at Denton High School this past weekend.

The Denton ISD middle school students on the TMEA all-region choir included:

Calhoun – Brisa Diaz;

Denise Stephens is the choir director at Calhoun Middle School.

Crownover – Claire Gilman, Sara Gomez, Jasmine Labelle, Mangawe, Jordyn McMahan, Hannah Prickett, Christian Rives, Dominic Roybal, Kyle Simmons, Preston Snead, William West, Gwyneth Zavala;

Stephanie Hicks is the choir director at Crownover Middle School.

Harpool – Andrew Beijan, Caroline Chraska, Caden Walters;

Alaina Ice are the choir directors at Harpool Middle School.

McMath – Anna Borges, Alexandra Gunn, Ruhama Kabir, Margaret Nicholson, Aubrey Smith;

Shelly Swafford is the choir director at McMath Middle School.

Myers – Xander Croft, Allie Francis, Sean Kinnaird, Ethan Martin, Tyler Winfree;

Kevin Rybowicz is the choir director at Myers Middle School.

Navo – Trinity Flanagan;

Tyler Fox is the choir director at Navo Middle School.

Strickland – Gary Felderhoff, Arielle Harris;

Amy Logan is the choir director at Strickland Middle School.