Return to Headlines

National Merit Semifinalists, Commended named for Class of 2017

      Fourteen Denton ISD students have been chosen out of 1.6 million total entrants to be semi-finalists or commended scholars in the National Merit Scholarship Program for this year’s graduating class.


        The College Board named Jordan Goldstein, Ansh Pujara and Abhiskek Shah of Guyer High to the distinguished list of National Merit Semi-Finalists.


         The three join a pool of just 7,600 National Merit Semifinalists in the entire country. High school students are selected into the program based on their top scores on the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).


        The Class of 2017 commended scholars include Hallie R. Evans and Erin P. Moore of Denton High;  Ashley Emory, Jefferson Knight, Alexander Koh, Gracon Mangnall and Thomas Nunez of Guyer High; Aaron Bates, Barry Lau, Matthew Merchant and Rachel Warfield of Ryan High schools. 


          More than 34,000 students throughout the nation are recognized for their exceptional academic promise, and deemed commended scholars. Although they will not continue in the competition for further National Merit awards, they place among the top five percent of the students who entered the competition by taking the exam.


         The district also had three students received recognition as National Hispanic Scholars or National Achievement Scholars. They include Theoren Moore, Thomas Nunez and Biancia Ramirez from Guyer High.


         The National Merit program recognizes students that are at-least one-quarter Hispanic or Latino and are among the top 5,000 high scoring individuals on the PSAT/NMSQT exam. The National Achievement Scholarship program recognizes scholars that annually score in the top three percent of more than 16,000 Black Americans who request consideration in the National Achievement program.


         Merit scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments and potential for success in rigorous college students, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin or religious preference.


         The National Merit Scholarship program was founded in 1955 to identify and honor scholastically talented American youth and to encourage them to develop their abilities to the fullest.