Return to Headlines

Top elementary authors in annual AAS essay contest recognized

AAS Essay Winner Denton ISD’s Adopt-A-School program recently hosted a Young Authors Night at the Barnes & Noble at Golden Triangle Mall to honor all first-place winners in the annual Adopt-A-School Essay Contest.

The evening featured the recognition of the top-five winners across the district with Ha-Young Kim from Hawk Elementary and Bisleidy Ramirez from Rivera Elementary (bilingual/Spanish) winning first place in fifth grade and Ethan Rucker from Cross Oaks Elementary and Alejandra Jimenez from Pecan Creek Elementary winning first place in fourth grade. The district winners received a special gift bag from Barnes & Noble.

All first-place winners received a book including their essays. That book can also be found in all Denton ISD elementary school libraries.

Fourth- and fifth-grade students were challenged to create essays and artwork for the contest regarding this year’s topic, “My school is great because…” and judged by business and community members that are part of the district’s Adopt-A-School program. The top-three essay and art winners were chosen from both grade levels at each Denton ISD school and surprised by district administrators and AAS reps at their campuses in December with trophies for their accomplishments.

The district winners included:


Fourth-grade English

First place – Ethan Rucker, Cross Oaks Elementary

Second place – Cate Panter, Newton Rayzor Elementary

Third place – Olivia Buettner, Providence Elementary

Fourth place – Kiera Disney, Ginnings Elementary

Fifth place – Grace Jing, Houston Elementary


Fourth-grade Spanish/bilingual

First place – Alejandra Jimenez, Pecan Creek Elementary

Second place – Luisa Fernanda Reyes, Hodge Elementary

Third place – Abril Vasquez, Wilson Elementary


Fifth-grade English

First place – Ha-Yung Kim, Hawk Elementary

Second place – Grace Collier, Newton Rayzor Elementary

Third place – Maddie Calahan, Lee Elementary

Fourth place – Alana Adkins, Providence Elementary

Fifth place – Annie Meador, Pecan Creek Elementary


Fifth-grade district Spanish/biligual

First place – Bisleidy Ramirez, Rivera Elementary

Second place – Jose Cervantes, Lee Elementary

Third place – Estrella Figueroa, Hodge Elementary


Fourth-grade school essay winners:

·         Adkins: Lainey Foley

·         Bell: Janay Cox

·         Cross Oaks: Ethan Rucker

·         E.P. Rayzor: Avery Combest

·         Evers Park: Zoe Carter

·         Ginnings: Kiera Disney

·         Hawk: Carina George

·         Hodge: Jade Langford, Luisa Fernanda Reyes (bilingual)

·         Houston: Grace Jing.

·         Lee: Catalina Cardenas, Walter Trevino (bilingual)

·         McNair: Savannah Jai Gross

·         Nelson: Jada Schoch

·         Paloma Creek: Rylee Scullawl

·         Pecan Creek: Kailyn Head, Alejandra Jimenez (bilingual)

·         Providence: Olivia Buettner

·         Newton Rayzor: Cate Panter

·         W.S. Ryan: Hilary Villatoro, Andrea Perez (bilingual)

·         Rivera: Norah Alshaie.

·         Stephens: Jimmy Odihiri

·         Wilson: Leona Appleton, Abril Vasquez (bilingual)


Fifth-grade school essay winners:

·         Adkins: Grace Coleman

·         Bell: Chris Amouye

·         Blanton: Jake DeBlanc

·         Cross Oaks: Natalie Peterson

·         Evers Park: Jose Blas, Osbaldo Mendoza (bilingual

·         Ginnings: Dionna Lewis

·         Hawk: Ha-Young Kim

·         Hodge: Audrey Magee, Estrella Figueroa (bilingual)

·         Lee: Maddie Calahan Jose Cervantes (bilingual)

·         McNair: Andrew John Nelson

·         Nelson: Michael Rutty

·         Paloma Creek: Alyssa Lindlau

·         Pecan Creek: Annie Meador

·         Providence: Alanna Adkins

·         Rivera: Baige Brinkman, Bisleidy Ramirez (bilingual)

·         E.P. Rayzor: Keegan Drescher

·         W.S. Ryan: Lexi Culberson.

·         Savannah: Bailey Young

·         Stephens: Savannah Ihrig

         Wilson: Cadriana Adam