Return to Headlines

Jostens Teachers of the Year honored by trustees, community

 Teachers from 36 Denton Independent School District campuses were honored by the Board of School Trustees and local business and community leaders for being the top educators at their schools at a reception Thursday night at the LaGrone Advanced Technology Complex. 
Members of the Teachers Communications Committee of Denton ISD named the 36 educators as the district’s 2016-17 Jostens Teachers of the Year for their outstanding work in the classroom and their ability to engage students in learning. 
At the presentation, the district’s top two educators, who will represent Denton ISD at the Regional XI level, were also announced. The winning educators were: Shelly Renfro, a 5th grade science teacher from W.S. Ryan Elementary as the Jostens Elementary Teacher of the Year and Jamie Covey, an ASL teacher at Denton High School, as the Jostens Secondary Teacher of the Year. 
Jostens was named the district’s official partner of the award as company officials wanted to recognize all the educators receiving the honor by donating a gold ring to each teacher. In all, Jostens’ contributions to the award are valued at more than $30,000.
In 2004, the company designed the special Teacher of the Year ring for Denton ISD’s top educators, a now annual tradition for the company and district. The following year, local businesses San Bay Studios, DATCU and James Wood Auto Park stepped forward to also sponsor the event.
The district’s Teachers of the Year include:
Windle • Stephenie Smith
Adkins • Dedra Adams
Bell • Terry Rahn
Blanton • Sharon Cramer
Borman • Kiaran Beck
Cross Oaks • Angela Marshall
Evers Park • Linda McFarland
Ginnings • Kyle Hatcher
Hawk • Hope Creech
Hodge • Sheila Button
Houston • Michelle McClanahan
Lee • Fallon Jones
McNair • Megan Johnson
Nelson • Danna Biggs
Paloma Creek • Charlene Stone
Pecan Creek • Pilar Balabuch
Providence • Andrea Bell
E.P. Rayzor • Melanie Stolfus
Newton Rayzor • Fernando Rubio
Rivera •   Chelsey Simmons
W.S. Ryan • Michelle (Shelly) Renfro
Savannah • Sandra Ledbetter
Stephens • Nichole Berg
Wilson • Nancy Rana  
Calhoun •  Jason Huber
Crownover • Robin Zaruba
Harpool • Bryan Stone
McMath • Todd Gray
Myers • Meghan Lenert
Navo • Tinika Harmon
Strickland • Brett Moore
Braswell • Kim Fritch
Denton • Jamie Covey
Guyer • Barbara Ouellette
Fred Moore • Countressa Ware-Jones  
Ryan Mark Kiraly