Return to Headlines

Claiming a Triple Crown

Students at E.P. Rayzor Elementary School bested 10 other campuses from across the Metroplex in the Texas Motor Speedway’s “Speeding to Read” competition, winning their third consecutive reading championship and finishing with a perfect 100 percent of the 466 students meeting their yearlong goal.

Before a packed house of 4,000 students on the speedway’s frontstretch, 2013 Indy 500 winner and IndyCar series Champion Tony Kanaan and NASCAR driver John Hunter Nemechek presented Principal Mary Dunlevy with a towering trophy for the three-peat.

“If I’m here, I don’t EVER plan on letting that trophy leave our possession,” said Ms. Dunlevy. “Our kids love to read, and this event provides some tangible rewards for them to reach beyond and make goals that cause them to surprise themselves sometimes.”

The 10 schools participating in this year’s contest represented six of the area’s largest school districts who combined to read 687,887 books. There is a ‘race-type’ atmosphere in the contest with TMS tracking each school’s overall goal during four points in the school year. The four points are based on the four turns in a track, with each school ‘sprinting’ toward the finish.

As a reward, students were treated to the animated “Turbo” Indy-car movie on the world’s largest TV at the speedway; a six-lap stock-car race from the Team Texas High Performance Driving School; as well as a question and answer session, champion photos and water pistol shooting contest with drivers.

Mr. Kanaan and Mr. Nemechek presented trophies and gift packs to the top individual readers throughout the assembly. Karina Singh was named first grade champion for reading 2,172 books. Second grade champion was Alysson Delloro for reading 3,444 books.

Kindergarten teacher Renee Clark won the classroom championship for her student who read on average 1,614.5 books per student.

The program also partnered with NASCAR’s Acceleration Nation for a STEM book reading contest during the final turn of the overall competition. Mr. Nemechek presented the champions with full-sized helmet trophies that consisted of E.P. Rayzor (school champion), kindergartener Evan Elmer, kindergarten-2nd grade winner, and fifth grader Logan Steele, 3rd -5th grade winner. First grade teacher Aleisha Moore won the class championship in the kindergarten - 2nd grade category.

“Our PTA really helps with incentives and provides a book and encouragement at every turn of the race,” said Ms. Dunlevy. “We love it, and this really helps make reading fun!”