Return to Headlines

College Board recognizes 82 students as AP Scholars

The College Board will honor 82 Denton ISD high school students with distinctions for 2018, according to their annual list of recipients who are named Advanced Placement Scholars.

The national program recognizes individuals who have demonstrated college-level achievement though exceptional scores in AP courses and on AP exams. Students are awarded based on four levels including: AP Scholar, AP Scholar with Honor, AP Scholar with Distinction and National AP Scholar. 

Students receive an award certificate from The College Board and although there is no monetary award, this achievement is acknowledged on any score report that is sent to colleges.


AP Scholars

Students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams.


Braswell High: Jonathan Cox, Aiden Dalrymple, Dekonte Pajibo

Denton High: Kolt Bundy, Melanie Capone, Steven Chavez, Avery Delost, Haining Liu, Calista Martin, Jazmyn Robles, Amy Sanders, Anna Schmieding, Gabriela Upchurch

Guyer High: Morgan Allen, Claire Collins, Caden Coon, Larissa Crow, Mekenzie Erickson, Luke Erwin, Kyle Gillespie, Liam Haber, Anna Laura Harmjanz, Jessica Hoffman, Elise Holder, Hyun-Jae Kim, Cameron Kirby, Justin Koh, Sydney Lovick, Robert Macias, Maya Martin, Alexander Pape, Vishvani Patel, Christina Paz, Sophie Ramirez, Maida Rao, Rachel Reed, Jacob Reynolds, Alexander Rodriguez, Landon Rosckes, Anthony Roth-Giacinto, Evan Ryckebusch, Gillian Schafer, Rida Shahdad, Saylor Snowden, Raegan Stubblefield, Grace Yoon

Ryan High: Min Seo Cho, Allison Essington, Nathan Fortune, Tarrace Herod, Michael Kajihara, Gabriella Mantecon, Brendan McGee, Arielle Smith, Melody Stevens, Janelle Thompson and Bailey Wiley.


AP Scholars with Honors

Students who earn an average score 3.25 on all AP exams taken and score of 3 or higher on four or more exams.


Braswell High: Mason Medrano

Denton High: Talha Akram, Madeleine Hall, Donna Son, Alyssa Williamson

Guyer High: Holli Brown, Allison Griffiths, Taylor Griswold, Arden Jenkins, Molly Krinner, Sara Mansoorshahi, Seppe Meuleman, Caleb Rodriguez, David Smith, Rajan Vyas, Carly Wells

Ryan High: Leah Enoch, Nathan Guy, Benjamin Strange


AP Scholars with Distinction

Students who earn an average score 3.5 on all AP exams taken and score of 3 or higher on five or more exams. 


Braswell High: Elyzabeth Graham

Denton High: Leah Beltrone, Hannah Chen, Kesavan Srivilliputhur

Guyer High: Liet Bourbon, Nathan Gates, Lauren McKinney, Arik Palileo, Meredith Wilder, Andrew Winn


National AP Scholar

Students who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.


Guyer High: Andrew Winn