Return to Headlines

Adkins Librarian Receives 2018 Siddie Joe Johnson Award

Adkins Elementary librarian, Lisa O’Rear, is the recipient of the 2018 Siddie Joe Johnson Award from the Texas Library Association. Ms. O’Rear has served as the librarian at Adkins Elementary since its opening in 2014 and has been with the district since 2007. 


The Siddie Joe Johnson Award is bestowed upon a public or school librarian in recognition of outstanding achievement in children’s library service. Ms. O’Rear will be presented with her award at the TLA Conference in Dallas on April 5.


The SJJ Award was named in honor of Siddie Joe Johnson, who served 27 years as Children's Librarian and Coordinator of Children's Services for the Dallas Public Library.  Ms. Johnson, a published poet and author, was the recipient of awards from the Poetry Society of Texas and the Texas Institute of Letters, as well as from the American Library Association for her work in children's library service.


SJJ Award nominees are evaluated on the basis of outstanding or innovative programs, a sustained high level of performance, leadership ability, involvement in professional organizations, community involvement, and cooperation with parents and other libraries, especially outside their own system.


This is the second Siddie Joe Johnson Award for Denton ISD.  Carol Richmond of Wilson Elementary received this award in 2013.