Return to Headlines

Jostens Teachers of the Year to be Honored April 17

The Denton Independent School District will honor 36 Teachers of the Year during a reception beginning at 6 p.m. on April 17 at The LaGrone Advanced Technology Complex, 1504 Long Road. The formal presentation will begin at 6:30 p.m.


“The power behind this award is that teachers are honoring their own, and being celebrated by our business community,” said Jamie Wilson, superintendent of schools.


Each elementary and secondary school in the Denton ISD nominates one teacher for teacher of the year.  Members of the district's Teachers Communication Committee (TCC) then review the nominees and select one elementary and one secondary teacher to move on to the Region XI Teacher of the Year Competition.


Nominated teachers must have been teaching in the Denton ISD for no less than three consecutive years and not have been nominated as a campus winner for the past five years.


Jostens was named the district’s official partner of the award as company officials wanted to recognize all the educators receiving the honor by donating a gold ring to each teacher. In all, Jostens’ contributions to the award are valued at more than $30,000.


In 2004, the company designed the special Teacher of the Year ring for Denton ISD’s top educators, a now annual tradition for the company and district.


The following year, local businesses San Bay Studios, DATCU and James Wood Auto Park stepped forward to also sponsor the event.


The following teachers will be honored as campus winners and are eligible to be selected as the District Elementary and Secondary Teacher of the Year that evening.


Adkins Elementary

Jacqueline Jenkins

Blanton Elementary

Kathryn Jones

Bell Elementary

Sarah Roberts

Cross Oaks Elementary

Brenda Cardenas

E.P. Rayzor Elementary

Becky Garrison Williams

Evers Park Elementary

Jennifer Carter

Borman Elementary

Jesus Lujan

Ginnings Elementary

Kristen Gray

Hawk Elementary

Laurie Henigan

Hodge Elementary

Lauren Powers-Walsh

Lee Elementary

Ana Haro Bartlett

McNair Elementary

Elizabeth Hall

Nelson Elementary

Lacie Hester

Newton Rayzor Elementary

Martha Arriaga

Paloma Creek Elementary

Amanda Qualls

Pecan Creek Elementary

Ivonne J. Solano

Providence Elementary

Ami Ware

Houston Elementary

Jennifer Nicholson

Savannah Elementary

Kathy Holt

Rivera Elementary

Alicia Roberson

W.S. Ryan Elementary

Theresa Coyne

Wilson Elementary

Lynette Walker

Stephens Elementary

Kim Kirkland

Myers Middle School

Sarah B. Hallin

Calhoun Middle School

Shamika D. Wilburn

Crownover Middle School

Heather Klos

Harpool Middle School

Chris Harmon

McMath Middle School

Dennae Shirley

Navo Middle School

Elizabeth Anderson

Rodriguez Middle School

Traci Melson

Strickland Middle School

J. Eric Roark

Gonzalez School for Young Children

Jennifer Wright

Denton High School

Gianluca Corsi

Guyer High School

Stephanie Long

Braswell High School

Rebecca Falola

Ryan High School

Kathleen Bossenbroek

La Grone ATC

Kelly Belcher