Return to Headlines

Denton ISD Wins Regional School Board Award

The Denton ISD Board of School Trustees has been selected as the 2019 Region 11 Outstanding School Board by a panel of school superintendents on Thursday, July 11.


“Our Board members bring different strengths and insight as they work together to continually improve the district and provide what is best for all students,” said Dr. Jamie Wilson, superintendent, in his nomination of the Board. “They hold themselves and me accountable for reaching goals as we constantly strive to improve.” 


The 2018-2019 Denton ISD Board of Trustees included Mia Price, president; Charles Stafford, vice president; Dr. Jeanetta Smith, secretary; Dr. Jim Alexander, trustee; Barbara Burns, trustee; Doug Chadwick, trustee and Dorothy Martinez, trustee.


The superintendent’s nomination centered on the accomplishment of the Board’s Goals and Legislative Agenda that included: expansion to a full-day pre-kindergarten program across the district, improved compensation for all employees and the strengthening of the support for students’ social and emotional welfare.


“The Board works to keep all constituents informed, even when there are tough decisions,” said Dr. Wilson. “Their engagement with the community is so strong the most recent Capitol Improvement Election earned a passing rate of 74.4 percent and the Tax Ratification Election passed with an approved of more than 80 percent, within in the same, one-year period.”


The school board award, sponsored by the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA), was created in 1971 to recognize those school boards that have demonstrated outstanding dedication and have rendered ethical service to the children of Texas.


Denton ISD’s application has been forwarded to TASA in Austin to be considered for the state award.  The TASA selection committee will review all 20 regional entries and announce five finalists on Aug. 9.  These finalists, designated as “Honor Boards,” will then be interviewed by the state selection committee and the state winner will be named the “Texas Outstanding School Board” for 2019.  All five boards will be recognized at the TASA/TASB Convention on Sept. 20.


“The Denton ISD Board of Trustees, with a collective 90 years of service to the children and educators of our community, continues to provide me and this district with unwavering support and guidance,” said Dr. Wilson. “Each of them, individually and collectively, are clearly outstanding advocates for public education.”


The criteria emphasize evidence of support for the improvement of educational performance.  The application process involves creating a booklet of information and documentation that address the following topics related to board activities: 


  • Functions as a policy-making body
  • Adherence to adopted board policies
  • Support for educational performance in accordance with state-established standards
  • Support for educational improvement projects and school transformation initiatives
  • Commitment to a code of ethics
  • Provision of financial support for the school system
  • Participation in workshops and other performance improvement programs
  • Placement of the welfare of children served by the school system above personal or political motives
  • Public relations efforts, including community awareness
  • Maintenance of harmonious and supportive relationships among board members


To participate in this awards program, school superintendents must nominate their school board and submit the application to their regional education service center.  The selection panel, which was comprised of area school district superintendents, evaluated the applications received and rated how well each applicant addressed the 10 areas of focus.    


For more information, contact Lori Burton at (817) 740-3690 or