Return to Headlines

Dr. Chris Rangel Selected as Texas PTA’s Elementary Principal of the Year

Texas PTA recently announced the recipients for the 2022 Outstanding Educator of the Year Awards. Among 300 nominations at the elementary, secondary and district level, Dr. Chris Rangel, who spent the previous eleven years as principal at Stephens Elementary and who was recently named principal of the Windle School for Young Children, has been selected as this year’s Elementary Principal of the Year.
“It is Texas PTA’s privilege to highlight the people who work tirelessly in our state’s public schools to make a difference,” said Texas PTA President Suzi Kennon. “We believe that student success is best fostered by collaboration between parents, families and teachers – that is exactly what these administrators and educators we have selected as honorees of the year help make a reality every day.”
Each year, Texas PTA requests nominations for outstanding educators in PTA schools. Texas PTA recognizes outstanding educators whose work embodies the association’s mission, enhances student learning environments, and directly involves students’ parents and families in their school life.
For the 2022 Outstanding Educator of the Year Awards program, nominations are received from across the state. Award selections were made in the spring. After a careful review process, award recipient selections were based on both the nomination and nominee profile. Dr. Rangel’s nomination reads in part:
“Dr. Rangel is the most consistently involved principal I've ever seen in my 27 years of involvement in education as a teacher and parent. She is at every PTA Board Meeting and even attended one on her own birthday! She - herself - volunteers on/for PTA and doesn't ask any parent to do something she wouldn't also do herself. She empowers the PTA and supports them wholeheartedly without micromanaging.”
Dr. Rangel joins her fellow 2022 Outstanding Educator of the Year Award recipients:

  • Beaumont ISD: Dr. Shannon Allen, Texas PTA Superintendent of the Year
  • Round Rock ISD: Dr. Mario Acosta, Texas PTA Secondary Principal of the Year
  • Frisco ISD: Laura Baker, Texas PTA Secondary Teacher of the Year
  • Denton ISD: Dr. Chris Rangel, Texas PTA Elementary Principal of the Year
  • Northside ISD: Danielle Morales, Texas PTA Elementary Teacher of the Year

Dr. Rangel and her fellow award recipients have been invited to attend the Talk of Texas Luncheon on July 30, 2022, during Texas PTA’s annual convention in Grapevine. During this event, the award recipients will be recognized for their achievements in front of some of their biggest PTA supporters.

“The Talk of Texas Luncheon, during the association’s LAUNCH conference, is a very special event,” said Texas PTA Programs Manager Carrie Mays. “More than an awards ceremony, it is a collection of priceless moments between our volunteers and the people who truly shine in our schools and school districts.”
For more information on the nomination process, visit Texas PTA’s statewide presence is made up of nearly 500,000 members. Its mission is to make every child’s potential a reality by engaging and empowering families and communities to advocate for all children.