Return to Headlines

2020 Teacher of the Year Celebration Information

During these unprecedented times, Denton ISD will honor its class of 2019-2020 Teacher of the Year recipients in a very unique way. 

Denton ISD campus Teacher of the Year award winners will be recognized in a Celebration Parade held at C.H. Collins Athletic Complex located at 1500 Long Road, at 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, May 5.

The district-wide event corresponds with National Teacher Appreciation week, which is held the week of May 4-8.      

During the past four days, a series of videos have been released on social media naming all 38 campus winners in each of the four vertical zones.

Campus winners will be driven in their vehicles throughout the parking lot on the west side of Collins stadium and be greeted by friends, family, and community members recognizing them for their accomplishment.  Everyone at the event will remain in their vehicles throughout the parade of vehicles.

The in-person celebration will provide award winners and their families an opportunity to be recognized for their excellence while maintaining all health precautions and social-distancing recommendations during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Superintendent Dr. Jamie Wilson will lead the parade of vehicles through the “family and friends” designated section of C.H. Collins beginning promptly at 7:00 p.m.  Denton ISD Board of Trustees and representatives from event sponsors DATCU Credit Union, Jostens, and James Wood Autopark will be in attendance.

At the end of the parade, Dr. Wilson will announce the District’s Elementary and Secondary Teacher of the Year award winners.

Please view the following map for parade route information: