Return to Headlines

HS Art Students Earn 101 Medals at Region VASE, 15 Advance to State

High school art students in Denton ISD participated in the Region round of the Texas Art Education Association's Visual Art Scholastic Event or VASE. This year's VASE events are virtual rather than in person due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Students that enter VASE create artworks, write about their creative processes and understanding of visual art, and articulate information about their artwork during an interview with a VASE juror, who evaluates their work using a standards-based rubric. This year, Denton ISD art students earned a total of 101 Region medals for Superior ratings. 15 Denton ISD works have advanced to State VASE (also virtual) which takes place April 24.

Pictured below are works by the students that have advanced to State. Congratulations to all of these award-winning DISD art students and their teachers. Best wishes to the students that have advanced to State.

 Sadie Johnson, Braswell HS

Sadie Johnson


Jennifer (Allison) McLeod, Braswell HS

Jennifer Allison McLeod


Marissa Salinas, Braswell HS

Marissa Salinas


Leah Matney, Braswell HS

Leah Matney


Samuel Sanders (2 works advanced), Braswell HS

Sam Sanders S Sanders


Elijah Aguirre, Guyer HS

Elijah Aguirre


Makenzie Lander (2 works advanced), Guyer HS

M Lander M Lander 2


Kamryn Nix (2 works advanced), Guyer HS

K Nix K Nix 2


Ronin Salmon, Guyer HS

R Salmon


Ryan Vanwagoner, Guyer HS

R Vanwagoner


Kayla Bryant, Ryan HS

Kayla Bryant


Victor Matute, Ryan HS

Victor Matute


Braswell HS - 41 Superior Ratings, 6 Advanced to State

Students of Alicia Berdan

Region VASE Superior Ratings:

Jennifer (Allison) McLeod – 2 medals (State)

Bryson Morgan

Asia St. Louis

Aiden Binkley

Sara (Esther) Ali


Students of Angelia Ford

Region VASE Superior Ratings:

Kailey Arthur

Robin Burney

Caydin Cooper

Eowyn Dautrich  x2 medals

Frida Gomez

Madelyn Kay

Ally Ordyna

Mia Romani

Samuel Sanders x2 medals (State x2)

Agostina Sosa-Clemente

Caitlyn Staiger


Students of Kiba Jacobson

Region VASE Superior Ratings:

Cox, Addison

Cruz, Alondra

Davis, Natalie

Franklin, Ayana

Garrett, Paige

Kim, Abby

Matney, Leah (State)

Mcclain, Shai

Ojeda, Jayden

Salinas, Marissa (State)

Sanchez-Manns, Natalie


Students of Ashlynn Lee

Region VASE Superior Ratings:

Avarie Pardue

Kylie Sonday

Davan Dalton

Alissa Anquoe

Alexis Magras


Students of Lauren Melton

Region VASE Superior Ratings:

Cox, Addison

Alexander, Sophie          

Gomez, Frida    

Johnson, Sadie (State)

Mckinney, Kailyne          

Ordyna, Ally       

Petty, Drew       

Tawakal, Shegay              

Williams-yousuf, Jenidy



Guyer HS - 49 Superior Ratings, 7 Advanced to State

Students of Tiffany Fitzsimmons

Region VASE Superior Ratings:

Elijah Aguirre (State)

Kenzie Colvin

Madison Humphries

Avery Kaplinsky

Amanda Kinner

Makenzie Lander (State)

Reagan Mendeke (x2)

Subah Newaz

Alexander O'connell

Angel Olvera

Aliyah Peggs

Samantha Reeves (x2)

Alyssa Rojas

Connor Smith (x2)

Samantha Tooley

Arun Vardhineni


Students of Christian Reid

Region VASE Superior Ratings:

Elijah Aguirre

Mackenzie Applin (x2)

Lydia Carr

Emily Chase

Maggie Glenn

Madeline Huffman

Anelise Hurst (x2)

Dharshini Kumaran

Mackenzie Lander (State)

Sophia Lee

Genaveve Miller

Minjung Song

Fernanda Vargas


Students of Jeremy Sale

Region VASE Superior Ratings:

Grace Campbell

Astrid Giron

Zoe Gresik

Madeleine Kaiser

Payton Sassie

Blake Sherwood

Isabella Villarreal


Students of Shaye Watson

Region VASE Superior Ratings:

Colton Clark

Katie Little

Abigail Marchant

Kamryn Nixon (x2) (State x2)

Ronin Salmon (State)

Ryan Vanwagoner (x2) (State)


Ryan HS - 11 Superior Ratings, 2 Advanced to State

Student of Amy Foutch

Region VASE Superior Rating:

Miguel Rodriguez      


Students of Todd Ford

Region VASE Superior Ratings:

Kayla Bryant (x2) (State)

Victor Matute (x2) (State)


Students of Brian Pierce

Region VASE Superior Ratings:

Joel Francis

Alexa Ivory

Griselda Mendoza

Ashley Robles

Itzel Solis

Cheryl Uangbaoje