Return to Headlines

Guyer Theatre's Bright Star is Nominated for 7 Betty Buckley Awards

The Betty Buckley Awards, named after Fort Worth’s own Tony® Award-winning Best Actress, Casa Mañana alumna Betty Lynn Buckley, is a scholarship awards program that has stood to promote and celebrate excellence in high school musical theatre since 2000. Participation is open to Denton, Wise, Parker, Hood, Johnson, and Tarrant County. The program culminates in a virtual Tony® Awards-style ceremony at Casa Mañana Theatre.


A panel of distinguished judges – comprised of local theatre professionals and educators – votes for a winner in each of 14 award categories. Awards include a $250 scholarship, which is provided by generous donors who recognize the benefits of this program and the impact musical theatre has on the lives of students.


Guyer HS Theatre's production of Bright Star has been nominated for seven Betty Buckley Awards:


Best Musical: Bright Star

Best Male Supporting Actor in a Musical: Andrew Beijan as Mayor Dobbs

Best Female Supporting Actor in a Musical: Ryley Patten as Margo

Best Male Leading Actor in a Musical: Parker Jackson as Jimmy Ray Dobbs

Best Female Leading Actor in a Musical: Caroline Chraska as Alice Murphy

Excellence in Sound Design: Chris Lopez


Excellence in Lighting Design: Alex Marshall


Congratulations to these nominees and to the Guyer Theatre Directors, Eleshia Crotwell and Chris Crotwell. Click here to see the complete list of nominees and learn more about these awards.