Return to Headlines

54 DISD Students Selected for TMEA HS All-Region Band, 16 Advance to Area

From November 18 to December 4, Denton ISD high school band students have been performing in various rounds of the Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) Region 2 high school band auditions, competing with students from schools all across Region 2. A total of 54 DISD students were selected to the All-Region High School Bands. The selected students will perform at the Region 2 High School Band Concert on Friday, January 14 at Guyer High School. 16 of these students have advanced to the TMEA Area auditions on January 8 for a chance at making the Texas All-State Band.

Congratulations to these outstanding students for earning a position in the All-Region Band. Many thanks to their awesome band directors and private lesson teachers for helping them prepare for the auditions. Best wishes to the students advancing to Area auditions!

Braswell HS Band - Aaron Snipes, director; Taylor Sitzman, associate director; Alan Miller, percussion director

6A Region 2 Symphonic Band:

Cameron Farley, flute

Kenia Zetino, clarinet

Sophie Alexander, bassoon (Advanced to Area)

Aidan Evano, trumpet

Palmer Biggers, F horn

Travis Harris, trombone


6A Region 2 Concert Band:

Amelia Phillips, flute

Sadie Johnson, clarinet

Rey Izzaguire, baritone saxophone

Nathan Contreras, trumpet

Arianna Shepherd, trumpet

Daniel Soto, tuba


5A/6A 9th Grade Honor Band:

Madie Koontz, flute

Becket Bell, euphonium

Jacob Lastovica, euphonium

Talan Hinkle, tuba

John Williams, percussion



Denton HS Band - Brian Wilson, director; Jesse Woolery, associate director; Phillip Elder, percussion director

5A Region 2 Symphonic Band:

Karlen Pradier, Flute

Lily Fosmire,  Clarinet   (Advanced to Area)

Nicholas Salas, Clarinet

Milo Kaplan, Alto Saxophone

Nicholas Iaia, Trumpet  (Advanced to Area)

Joshua Atkins, Trumpet  (Advanced to Area)

Abby Carrasco, Trumpet

Eli Adams, Trumpet

Gerald Jones, Trumpet

Caleb Harold, F Horn  (Advanced to Area)

Marco Illari, F Horn  (Advanced to Area)

Leo Illari, Trombone  (Advanced to Area)

Alexander Evangelopoulos,  Trombone

Maggie Sherman, Euphonium  (Advanced to Area)

Crystal Garrett, Tuba


Guyer HS Band - Nathan Taylor, director; Mikaela Pyle, associate director; Devin Garza, percussion director

6A Region 2 Wind Ensemble:

Cale Golden, Clarinet (Advanced to Area)

Joseph Candeloro, Clarinet (Advanced to Area)


6A Region 2 Symphonic Band:

Holden Hayes, Trombone


6A Region 2 Concert Band:

Johan Hidalgo, Clarinet

Bobby Carlisle, Bb Trumpet

Tyler Haverland, Trombone


5A/6A 9th Grade Honor Band:

Ryan Bauer, Alto Saxophone

Aiden Does, Trombone


Ryan HS Band - Mary Brown, director; Jarrod Beard, associate director; Frank Chapple, percussion director

5A Region 2 Symphonic Band:

Seleta Montemayor, Flute (Advanced to Area)

Kate Ellis, Flute

Jacklyn Bounds, Oboe

Rafael Gonzalez, Clarinet (Advanced to Area)

Valeria Attaguile, Clarinet (Advanced to Area)

Katelynn Davis, Clarinet

Giulianno Manzi, Clarinet

Cooper Randolph, Contra Bass Clarinet (Advanced to Area)

Jacob Ryter, Alto Sax (Advanced to Area)

Jake Jauregui-Garcia, Bassoon (Advanced to Area)

Ian Beck, Trumpet

Gerson Rodriguez, Trumpet

Evan Kinnaird, F Horn

Jose Santos, Trombone