Return to Headlines

Dance Students and Teachers Represent Denton ISD at State Dance Convention

Denton ISD's dance teachers attended the annual Texas Dance Educators Association Convention, January 5-8, along with four outstanding dance students - one from each of our comprehensive high schools listed below - as members of the TDEA All-State Dance Team. The All-State Dance Team is comprised of dancers representing schools from across the state of Texas. All-State dancers participate in an exciting convention experience that includes dance workshops, leadership training, master classes, and networking with other students. The All-State Dance Team experience culminates in a performance choreographed by a master choreographer.

Four of Denton ISD's dance teachers were awarded service pins from TDEA. Congratulations to Rachel Simpson (15 years), Kristina Shelburne (10 years), Jamitrice Keating-Lynton (5 years), and Lauren Uddin (5 years). Many thanks to all of our outstanding dance teachers for their amazing service to the students of Denton ISD and congratulations to our All-State Dance Team students:


Braswell HS Dance

Directors: Kristina Shelburne and Jessica Johnston

All-State Dance Team: Allison Hodges


Denton HS Dance

Directors: Kerri Burgess and Jamitrice Keating-Lynton

All-State Dance Team: Reagan Shugart


Guyer HS Dance

Directors: Rachel Simpson and Lauren Uddin

All-State Dance Team: Abriel Vielma


Ryan HS Dance

Directors: Keli Jones and Emily Schaefer

All-State Dance Team: KayLeigh Post