Return to Headlines

Braswell Band Selected to the Music for All National Festival

Music for All logo

Denton ISD is extremely proud to announce that the Braswell HS Wind Symphony, under the direction of Aaron Snipes, has been selected by audition to perform in the Music for All National Concert Band Festival in Indianapolis, IN, March 30-April 2, 2023. Braswell’s Wind Symphony was selected from among hundreds of recordings entered by high school bands applying from across the United States. The Braswell Wind Symphony will be a featured ensemble and will perform a 40-minute concert on the main stage of Clowes Memorial Hall at Butler University.

Founded in 1975, Music for All is one of the nation’s largest and most influential organizations in support of active music-making through educational and performance programs and advocacy. From roots in marching band championships as Bands of America, the organization launched the National Concert Band Festival in 1992. Today, the Music for All National Festival provides a world-class educational performance experience for the nation’s finest scholastic bands, orchestras, percussion ensembles, and chamber ensembles. The Music for All National Festival is an integral part of Music for All’s mission to create, provide, and expand positively life-changing experiences through music for all. The Music for All National Festival provides a place for growth, cooperative encouragement, and mutual respect among music programs, students, parents, boosters, and administrators. To receive an invitation by audition is to be recognized as one of the finest scholastic music ensembles in America.

We know that the Braswell Wind Symphony will represent their campus, Denton ISD, and the State of Texas in a most outstanding way at the Music for All National Festival. All are encouraged and invited to attend their local concerts in preparation of their performance on the national stage. Congratulations to the Braswell Wind Symphony students, director Aaron Snipes, associate director Taylor Sitzman, and percussion director Alan Miller, for this wonderful achievement!