Return to Headlines

25 National Qualifiers at Texas Thespians State Festival

Texas Thespians’ State Festival in Grapevine on November 15-18, 2023, included theatre troupes from Braswell High School, Denton High School, and Ryan High School. Texas Thespians is the largest chapter in the nation of the Educational Theatre Association. The event features college auditions and competitions for students, and professional development for theatre directors. This year, Braswell’s Theatre Troupe received the All-Star Troupe award. Erran Calef, Allison McLeod, Emalee Searles, Kendall Eiffert placed 1st in State in the Texas State Thespian Dramatic Design Contest. 


Students that competed at the State Festival could advance to the National Thespians Competition. 


Braswell High School 

National Qualifiers
Solo Musical – Hannah Blake
Solo Musical – McKenzie Christian
Duet Musical – Presley Nicewarner & Gabriella Wallace
Group Acting – Julian Casim, Zach Cross, Kodi Davis, Landon Flanagan, Lily Graham, Spencer Mabrey
Costume Design – Belle Graham
Set Design- Erran Calef

Set Design- Ireland McCraw
Marketing- Kendall Eiffert

Sound Design- Hailey Gwata

Denton High School 

National Qualifiers

Duet Acting- Eris Smith & Shane McLaughlin

Stage Manager- Addisyn Copley


Ryan  High School 

National Qualifiers

Duet Acting- Ella Bynane & Chloe May

Solo Monologue- Brinyl Johnson

Playwriting- Shulamith Armintor

Solo Musical- Emma Tarwater

Duet Musical- Isla Bohnert & Calleigh Slocum