Return to Headlines

4 High School TDEA All-State Dancers

4 Denton ISD Students Selected for All-State Dance

Four dancers earned All-State honors for the 2023-2024 school year from the Texas Dance Educators Association (TDEA).

The TDEA All-State Dance Team is comprised of dancers representing schools from across the state of Texas. All-State dancers participated in the TDEA All-State Convention Jan. 10-13 in Houston. The experience included dance workshops, leadership training, master classes and networking with other students. The All-State Dance Team experience culminates in a performance choreographed by a master choreographer.

“Only one dance student from each high school can be selected for the TDEA All-State Dance Team,” Eddy Russell, Director of Fine Arts said. “It is an incredible honor for a student to be selected to perform in this prestigious group and represent their campus dance program. These outstanding students enjoy and learn a lot from the workshops and masterclasses they get to experience at the TDEA State Convention. Being a member of the All-State Dance Team is an experience these dancers will never forget.”

The Denton ISD students named to the highest dance honor in Texas include the following:

Braswell Dance
Keira Oshunkentan, All-State Dance
Ms. Kristina Rankin, Ms. Briana Eason and Ms. Tiana Martinez, Directors

Denton Dance
Grey Collier, All-State Dance
Ms. Kerri Burgess and Ms. Jamitrice Keating-Lynton, Directors

Guyer Dance
Sophia Moore, All-State Dance
Ms. Rachel Simpson and Ms. Lauren Uddin, Directors

Ryan Dance
Jayden Luster, All-State Dance
Ms. Keli Jones and Ms. Emily Schaefer, Directors