Return to Headlines

UIL Announces Realignment for 2024-2025, 2025-2026 School Years

The University Interscholastic League (UIL) announced its football, basketball and volleyball realignment for the 2024-2025 and 2025-2026 school years on Thursday morning. Realignment is completed biennially, and the new alignments were established by enrollment figures submitted to the UIL by its member schools in October.

Along with Guyer, Braswell, Denton and Ryan High Schools each being placed in newly configured districts, Denton moved up from Class 5A Division II to 5A Division I for football. The Broncos will now compete in District 3-5A Division I, Region I, along with Ryan, Aledo, Azle, Granbury, Keller Fossil Ridge, Birdville, Richland and Brewer High Schools.

In volleyball and boys/girls basketball, Denton and Ryan will compete in District 6-5A Region I along with Argyle, Colleyville Heritage, Grapevine, Birdville and Richland High Schools.

Guyer and Braswell, meanwhile, will still compete in District 5-6A for football, volleyball and boys/girls basketball – but with several new faces. District 5-6A now includes Coppell, Lewisville, Flower Mound, Marcus, Hebron and Little Elm High Schools.