News about Denton ISD's Destination Imagination Teams


    Destination Imagination in the News


    DI Regional Tournament (TVNC) 2019 Results

    Congratulations to the five Denton ISD teams placing in the top 5 at the 2018-2019 Desitnation Imagination (DI) Regional tournament that took place Saturday, February 23rd at Marcus High School.  The region is very competititve and consists of Denton, Lewisville, Carrollton-Farmers Branch, Coppell, Little Elm, Decatur and other surrounding districts including private schools in the area.  Students work in teams to find creative and unique solutions to a challenge and present it in a performance during the tournament.  The program promotes STEAM skills, creativity, positive communication and teamwork.  


    The following teams placed 1st at TVNC and will be competing at the state levele completition March 22-24 in Corpus Christi, TX.

    Guyer HS/Denton HS - Improv Challenge (TM: Seema Gokharu)

    Students (L to R): Sam Vader (DHS), Sebastian Bourbon (GHS), Siddhartha Shah (GHS), Ethan Jones (GHS)

    This team was also awarded the Renaissance Award which is given to a team that shows exceptional skills in the area of design, engineering or performance


    Braswell HS/Denton HS - Project Outreach Challenge (TM: Trina Page)

    Students (L to R): Lyddia Kasper (DHS), Andrea Lomeli (BHS), Keagan Gotlieb-Smith(BHS), Colton Page (BHS), Ryan Prikryl (BHS not shown)

    Colton page was also the recipient of the senior DI scholarship award for $ 1,500 from the TVNC DI region


    The following teams placed 3rd at TVNC.


    Denton HS/McMath MS - Fine Arts Challenge (TM: Bernadette Coleman/Laura Valerius)

    Students (L to R) - Ben Coleman, Helena Coleman, Elizabeth Lock, Andrew Lock (McMath), Megan Stuart (DHS) & Katie Stuart (DHS)

    Ben, Helena, Elizabeth and Andrew were also awarded the Magellan Award for attempting all 6 challenges over the years.


    McMath MS/Strickland MS - Engineering (Structure) challenge (TM: Hala Habib)

    Students (L to R) - Saif Habib, Anna Gumienny, Phoebe Richter, Joaquin Soto (Strickland)


    The following teams place 5th at TVNC.

    Savannah Elementary - Scientific Challenge (TM: Katherine Norris)

    Students (L to R) - Nathan Norris, Jaden Weagel, Dylan O'Brien, Thomas Travis, Brody Woodley, Harper Buss & Haylyn Holt