About Denton ISD

    Denton ISD

    Denton Independent School District has been committed to providing a quality education since it was founded in 1882. The district – located about 25 miles north of Dallas and Fort Worth – encompasses 186 square miles and contains all or parts of 18 cities, communities or major developments.

    Located in the city of Denton, the county seat for Denton County, the school district has a rich history. In 1882, voters passed a $15,000 bond election to finance the construction of Denton's first public school. The structure was three stories and made of red brick. The district has continued to grow and is currently one of fastest-growing school districts in North Texas.

    Denton ISD includes four comprehensive high schools, eight middle schools, 24 elementary schools, two early childhood centers, an alternative high school, an advanced technology complex and other specialized schools and centers. 

    In the past 12 years, the district has passed four bond packages totaling more than $1.3 billion. The support of the community the district serves is evident in the passage of these bond packages. They have averaged passing with a more than 60 to 80 percent voter approval rate.

    Not only does the school district community support outstanding school facilities, it demands excellence in its educational programs. It is truly an educational community where citizens are highly engaged in education – especially with two major universities and a community college within its boundaries.

    The higher education facilities include:

    • University of North Texas
    • Texas Woman's University
    • North Central Texas College

    The presence of three institutions of higher learning within the district sets a professional learning climate that engages everyone in the community. For example, with UNT boasting one of the best music programs in the nation, the district is one of only 10 percent of school districts nationwide that offers orchestra at the elementary level.

    With its huge geographical area of 186 square miles, the Board and district staff work together as a cohesive team to help bridge the gap between these numerous cities, towns, communities and major developments. Those areas include:

    • Argyle
    • Aubrey
    • Bartonville
    • Copper Canyon
    • Corinth
    • Cross Roads
    • Cross Oak Ranch
    • Denton
    • Double Oak
    • Lantana
    • Little Elm
    • Oak Point
    • Paloma Creek
    • Prosper
    • Providence
    • Robson Ranch
    • Sandbrock Ranch
    • Savannah
    • Shady Shores

    Although it covers a large area, Denton ISD's unique small town community environment separates it from the growing, larger suburban school districts within the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex. Denton ISD is able to offer all the programs available from larger school districts while maintaining a small community climate.