• Attendance Matters Header


    Attendance Requirements

    Denton ISD is committed to partnering with parents to ensure the success of our students. Campus and district administrators will be proactive in providing support and resources for families so that attendance is a priority. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

    Texas law requires students ages 6-19 to attend school each day that instruction is provided. This also applies to students who are younger than six and have previously been enrolled in 1st grade and to students younger than six who are voluntarily enrolled in pre-kindergarten or kindergarten.


    Did You Know?

    • Texas law requires students to be in attendance at least 90% of the time in order to receive credit for the semester.  

    • 90% means a student cannot miss more than 8 days in a semester for a class that meets every day.  Students in A/B classes cannot miss more than 4 days.  

    • Attendance can be a better predictor of whether students will graduate from high school than test scores.

    • Students in kindergarten and 1st grade who are chronically absent will not likely read at grade level by the 3rd grade.

    • Parents/guardians can check their student’s attendance through the Home Access Center (HAC). 

  • How Can We Help?

  • Attendance FAQ's

  • What should I do if my child is absent?

  • Why did the campus mark my child's absence as unexcused even though I turned in a note and/or called to let the campus know my child would be absent?

  • What should I do if my child’s attendance in HAC is not correct?

  • What should I do if I cannot afford to take my child to the doctor?